I Miss Blogging

I’ll just reiterate it, since it was just a few moments ago that I realized it: I miss blogging.

For a long time, I have unconsciously equated blogging to writing. I don’t know why, but maybe because blogging gives me feedback from my readers, which then makes me feel that whatever I put up in my blog becomes a “legit” writing piece. Of course, before you roll my eyes on that notion, I completely know that blogging and writing are distinct to one another, albeit the former could be non-existent without the latter.

I was already planning to write something else tonight, but after checking out some blogs, it was then that I realized that I missed hanging my writing pieces on the wall of the worldwide web and so am writing now about my current dilemma.  I missed writing with the purpose of sharing a story or an idea or an insight. I missed writing and knowing that some people out there either share the same sentiments I have or acknowledge the reality of my experiences. I missed writing with a commitment — that I have to push myself into finishing whatever I have started, regardless of what I feel now about the task I have set myself to accomplish.

“Commitment means staying loyal to what you said you were going to do, long after the mood you said it in has left you.”

I was not gone in the blogosphere for a long, long time though. But it felt like it. Maybe because I see my blogger-friends constantly publishing their poems, photos, and whatnot on their blogs. Maybe because I have intentionally distanced myself from social media sites for a quite while now. Maybe because I’m currently doing some “adult” responsibilities and I felt that blogging is one of the trivialities of life. Or maybe because I just have nothing to write about — because my life is currently a paper with a barely finished introductory paragraph written on it.

I guess I just want to bleed out these words right now, as I contemplate whether to eat this three-day old doughnut or not. (But it’s Dunkin Donuts’ choco butternut; everybody loves it.) I guess that’s it for now. I know there are more to come up soon. Thank you for taking the time to hear me out. (:

PJ

6 Replies to “I Miss Blogging”

Leave a Reply

